When Life Hands you Lemons….

This week my Monday morning began as it typically does. Bible reading with breakfast and coffee after outside chores were done…except I found my favorite australorp hen passed away in the hen yard. These things happen from time to time, but I mourned this one for a bit. She was pretty and up until then had been a good layer. Chin up and on with the day. It’s going to be okay.

A couple of phone calls I had been putting off finally got made. Did you know you cannot replace your own car lights anymore without messing with a circuit panel….and LEDS cost $1200? Yes, and sometimes extended warranties are fun stuff to deal with too.. About keeping that chin up…

At least I had gotten a couple loads of laundry done and on the line. Only, I smelled something akin to hot metal in the laundry room. I investigated and could find nothing out of the ordinary. So, the third and final load was going in and I’d have that task completed for the day. A few minutes later my machine beeped at me and shut off. Odd. Maybe it was off balance? Open the lid to discover that hot metallic odor was coming from the washing machine. It won’t run. It’s only two years old. Now that repair will take precedence over the taillight repair.

Mr. Washing machine repairman can’t come until next week to tell me what’s wrong with said machine, and who knows if it’ll be fixed that day or not. I do a lot of laundry. I can’t wait that long.

To cry or not to cry. These things are small potatoes in the scheme of life. The very fact that I have repair issues to deal with means I’m blessed to have a nice car and appliances in the first place. So. I won’t cry. This is where resolve sets in.

Tuesday morning I hauled the double washbins that were my grandma’s out of my laundry room and out the backdoor. Years back I asked for them because they were no longer being used at her house and had been stored out in her back garage. I wanted them so I could wash oversized items and rugs without running to a laundry mat. I also have fond memories of using these washtubs on laundry day with her. It wasn’t until the 80’s before she bought a modern washing machine. My NEW machine with all of it’s fancy computerized stuff obviously can’t hold a candle to the tubs that have washed literally thousands of loads over the last half of a century. If only I had her ringer as well (which still works too by the way, it’s just at her house not mine).

Buckets of hot water and soap filled one side and I put a load of laundry in for a good soak while I went about other morning things. By noon my daughter and I had them hand washed, rinsed, and hung on the line. Thank God for gorgeous weather and the ability to make lemonade with lemons.

It’s Thursday today and this has been the daily routine. Not saying I’d like to continue this indefinitely, but just knowing that I can make good in a bad situation with knowledge and experience from an age gone by puts a bit of a smile on my face.

It’s true. They don’t make things like they used to. So maybe hang on to some of the past just in case the future isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

Leave a comment