Back to Hoeft

This week we find ourselves once again along the sandy rock laden shores of northern Lake Huron. Michigan has quite a few hidden gems and Rogers City is one of them. It is home to a lovely stretch of beachfront, shipwrecks, and one of our states most lovely lighthouses. 40 mile point never disappoints. The town itself has a limestone quarry and several nice little shops to visit. My matcha chai tea was a delicious treat this afternoon at The Painted Lady Cafe.

This is our third trip to Hoeft State Park and each time has been a very refreshing visit. Our favorite pastime here is the search for puddingstones. I mentioned them in a post back in 2017, the last time we made the trip. They are a conglomerate of many rocks rolled by currents and smoothed into pieces of unique stone resembling beautiful artwork.

No two are alike varying in color and size. Not too far out there are boulders too large for a human to move.

Today’s coolest find is pictured above. A washed up piece of ship wreckage. The timber is broken but still measures at least 16′ x18″x 2″ ….it’s old wood with holes from the iron rods that held this vessel together years ago. I have no idea which sunken ship this hails from, only that this piece was not on shore last night. Overnight we had two thunderstorms. I can only assume this artifact finally made its way to shore due to the increased current. As I sit here by the lapping waves my mind wanders to history. Michigans northern waters are full of it.

We needed this. We needed a few days to just enjoy God’s handiwork. We needed to have our imagination stretched again. Home life is great. I love my family, my home, my animals….I also have become far too much of a homebody. I get so comfortable in my little space and forget how grand the world outside is. The time and effort it takes to get away isn’t easy. It’s a lot of work sometimes, but if you make the opportunity you’ll not regret it.

Leave a comment